سرطان القولون والمستقيم هو أحد أنواع السرطانات التي تصيب القولون أو المستقيم. وطبقاً للتقديرات، تسبب سرطان القولون والمستقيم في أكثر من 935.000 حالة وفاة على مستوى العالم في عام 2020. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه ليس هناك طريقة محددة يمكن اتباعها لتجنب الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، ومع ذلك يمكن اتخاذ عدة تدابير لتقليل خطر الإصابة به.

وتجدر الإشارة أيضاً إلى أنه في أغلب الحالات يبدأ سرطان القولون والمستقيم على شكل سلائل (تورمات عُقدية) في حالة ما قبل تحولها إلى أورام سرطانية إما في القولون أو المستقيم، ويمكن أن تظل هذه السلائل (التورمات العُقدية) في القولون لأعوام عديدة قبل تحولها إلى أورام سرطانية. ومن الممكن ألا تسبب هذه السلائل (التورمات العُقدية) أي أعراض، لذلك؛ فمن أكثر الطرق الفعَّالة لتقليل خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم هو إجراء الفحوصات الدورية بعد سن منتصف الأربعينيات.

وفيما يلي المزيد من المعلومات حول كيفية تقليل خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم:

عوامل الخطر

تشير عوامل الخطر إلى العوامل المرتبطة بمضاعفة احتمالية الإصابة بالسرطان أو غيره من الأمراض. وتشمل عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بالإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم ما يلي:

  • العمر

يصيب سرطان القولون والمستقيم المراهقين والشباب، ومع ذلك فإن معظم الأشخاص المشخصين على أنهم مصابون به تتجاوز أعمارهم سن الأربعين عاماً.

  • الجنس

يُعد الرجال أكثر عرضة قليلاً للإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم مقارنةً بالنساء.

  • التاريخ العائلي المرضي

تتضاعف احتمالية إصابة الشخص بسرطان القولون والمستقيم إذا كان لدى عائلته تاريخ مرضي في الإصابة بالسرطان. وتزداد احتمالية الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم بشكل أكبر إذا كان أحد الأقارب مصاباً بسرطان القولون والمستقيم أو إذا سبق إصابة أحد الأقارب من الدرجة الأولى (الوالدين والأخوات والإخوة والأبناء) به في سن مبكرة.

  • العامل الوراثي

يزداد خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم عند توارث بعض الطفرات الوراثية المرتبطة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم غير السلائلي الوراثي أو متلازمة لينش وداء السلائل الورمي الغدي العائلي ومتلازمة غاردنر ومتلازمة السليلات الحميدة وغير ذلك.

  • التدخين

يزيد التدخين من خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم.

  • الكحوليات

يزيد شرب أكثر من 3 مشروبات كحولية يومياً من خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، كما يزيد ذلك من خطر الإصابة بأورام القولون والمستقيم الكبيرة.

  • السمنة

تُعد السمنة واحدة من عوامل الخطر المرتبطة بزيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، كما تتسبب في زيادة خطر الوفاة بسبب سرطان القولون والمستقيم.

  • داء الأمعاء الالتهابي

قد يُصاب الأشخاص الذين يعانون من داء الأمعاء الالتهابي بالتهاب مزمن في الأمعاء الغليظة، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم.

طرق الوقاية

  • إجراء فحوصات الكشف عن سرطان القولون والمستقيم

إن أحد أكثر الطرق الفعَّالة لتجنب الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم هو إجراء فحوصات دورية للكشف عن سرطان القولون والمستقيم. ويُشار إلى إجراء الكشف عن الخلايا السرطانية أو ما قبل السرطانية لدى الأفراد الذين لا تظهر عليهم أعراض المرض باسم الفحص. ويستغرق عادةً تحول الخلايا غير الطبيعية المبكرة إلى سلائل (تورمات عُقدية) والتي تتحول بعد ذلك إلى أورام سرطان القولون والمستقيم لمدة تتراوح من 10 إلى 15 عاماً. وتساعد الفحوصات الدورية في الكشف عن السلائل (التورمات العُقدية) وإزالتها قبل أن تتحول إلى أورام سرطانية، لذا؛ يُرجى الحرص على إجراء فحوصات الكشف عن سرطان القولون والمستقيم إذا كنت تبلغ من العمر 40 عاماً أو أكثر.

  • ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام

قد تكون أكثر عرضة للإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم إذا لم تكن نشيطًا من الناحية البدنية. يمكن لممارسة النشاط البدني بانتظام أن يساعد في تخفيض نسبة خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، وكذلك الحد من الوقت الذي تقضيه في الجلوس والاستلقاء قد يساعد كذلك في تقليل خطر الإصابة به. تسهم زيادة الوزن أو السمنة لدى كل من الرجال والنساء في زيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم. كما أن ممارسة التمارين الرياضية بانتظام ستساعد كذلك على التحكم في وزنك.

  • تجنب التدخين

الأشخاص الذين يدخنون لمدة طويلة أكثر عرضة للإصابة بسرطان القولون أو المستقيم والموت بسببه مقارنةً بغير المدخنين. قد يقلل الإقلاع عن التدخين من احتمالية إصاباتك بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، إضافة إلى عدد لا يحصى من السرطانات الأخرى

  • تجنب الإفراط في تناول الكحول

ربطت العديد من الدراسات الإفراط في تناول الكحوليات بزيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، وبالأخص بين الذكور إذا كنت تتناول الكحوليات، ينبغي أن تُحِد الكمية لتكون كوباً واحداً في اليوم فيما يتعلق بالنساء وكوبين فيما يتعلق بالرجال.

  • تناول الكثير من الفواكه والخضراوات والحبوب الكاملة

يساعد اتباع نظام غذائي غني بالفواكه والخضراوات والحبوب الكاملة على التقليل من خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم. قلل أيضًا من تناول اللحوم الحمراء (لحم البقر أو الخنزير أو الضأن) وكذلك اللحوم المصنعة (النقانق وغيرها من لحوم اللانشون)، والتي يرتبط تناولها بزيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم.

  • مضادات الالتهاب اللاستيرويدية (NSAIDs)

الأشخاص الذين يتناولون الأسبرين بشكل متكرر أو غيره من مضادات الالتهاب اللاستيرويدية بما في ذلك الأيبوبروفين (موترين، أدفيل) ونابروكسين (أليف) يقل لديهم خطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم والسلائل وفقًا لعدة دراسات. يمكن للاستخدام المنتظم لمضادات الالتهاب اللاستيرويدية، على الجانب الآخر، أن يؤدي إلى آثار ضارة خطيرة مثل نزيف المعدة والجلطات الدموية التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى الإصابة بسكتة دماغية أو نوبة قلبية. لا يمكن استبدال فحوصات سرطان القولون والمستقيم المنتظمة بتناول الأسبرين أو مضادات الالتهاب اللاستيرويدية الأخرى. ينبغي على الأشخاص مناقشة مخاطر وفوائد تناول الأسبرين بانتظام مع طبيبهم الخاص

  • العلاج المركب بالهرمونات البديلة

ثبت في بعض الدراسات أن تناول الإستروجين والبروجستيرون بعد انقطاع الطمث يقلل من خطر إصابة المرأة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم. ومع ذلك، من بين النساء اللاتي يستخدمن العلاج المركب بالهرمونات البديلة (HRT) ويصبن بسرطان القولون والمستقيم، فمن المرجح أن يتطور السرطان لديهن لمراحل متقدمة، ولا تقل لديهن احتمالية الوفاة بسبب الإصابة به. إذا كنت تفكرين في اللجوء إلى العلاج الهرموني بعد انقطاع الطمث، فتحدثي إلى طبيبك عن مخاطر ذلك وفوائده.

وفقاً للأبحاث، فإن العادات المتعلقة بالغذاء والوزن والتمارين الرياضية مرتبطة بخطر الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم. قد يكون من الصعب تغيير بعض هذه الأنماط الحياتية. ومع ذلك، فإن إجراء بعض التعديلات عليها يمكن أن يقلل من احتمالية الإصابة بالعديد من أشكال السرطانات الأخرى، فضلاً عن الحالات الشديدة الأخرى مثل أمراض القلب والسكري. احرص على اجراء التغيرات الضرورية في حياتك لتقليل احتمالية الإصابة بسرطان القولون والمستقيم وتذكر استشارة الطبيب إذا كان لديك أي شكوك أو مخاوف، أو احرص ببساطة على التأكد من أن نمط حياتك وحالتك الصحية يسيران على المسار الصحيح.

المنشورات ذات الصلة

الأكل والإصابة بالارتجاع المعدي في الموسم الاحتفالي

الأكل والإصابة بالارتجاع المعدي في الموسم الاحتفالي

اقرأ المزيد
البواسير

البواسير

اقرأ المزيد
داء الارتداد المعدي المريئي

داء الارتداد المعدي المريئي

اقرأ المزيد
جراحة المرارة

جراحة المرارة

اقرأ المزيد
جراحة الغدد الصماء

جراحة الغدد الصماء

اقرأ المزيد
جراحة القولون والمستقيم

جراحة القولون والمستقيم

اقرأ المزيد

Colorectal cancer is a cancer of the rectum or the colon. According to estimates, more than 935,000 people lost their lives in 2020 due to colorectal cancer worldwide. There is no definite way to prevent colorectal cancer, however, some measures can be taken to reduce the risk of developing colorectal cancer.

It is noteworthy that almost all colorectal cancer starts as precancerous polyps either in the colon or rectum. These polyps or abnormal growths can be present in your colon for years before developing into cancer. It is possible that these polyps may not cause any symptoms. Therefore, one of the most effective ways to lower your risk of colorectal cancer is to get screened regularly after mid-40s.

Let us know more about how you can reduce your risk of colorectal cancer.

Risk Factors

A risk factor is anything that multiplies a person’s possibility of developing cancer or any other disease. Here are some of the risk factors associated with the growth of colorectal cancer.

  • Age

Colorectal cancer can affect teenagers and young adults, however, most colorectal cancers are diagnosed in people older than 40 years.

  • Gender

Men have a marginally higher risk of getting colorectal cancer than women.

  • Family history

A person’s odds of getting colorectal cancer is roughly doubled if they have a family history of cancer. The risk of developing colorectal cancer increases even more, if other close relatives have also developed colorectal cancer or first-degree relatives (parents, sisters, brothers, children) were diagnosed at a younger age.

  • Inherited risk

The risk is increased when certain gene variations linked to Hereditary Nonpolyposis Colon Cancer or Lynch Syndrome, Familial Adenomatous Polyposis, Gardner Syndrome, Juvenile Polyposis Syndrome, etc are inherited.

  • Smoking

Smoking cigarettes is linked to an increased danger of developing colorectal cancer.

  • Alcohol

Drinking more than 3 alcoholic beverages a day heightens the risk of colorectal cancer. It is also associated with the risk of developing large colorectal adenomas.

  • Obesity

Obesity is another risk factor linked to an increased risk of getting colorectal cancer and death from colorectal cancer.

  • Inflammatory bowel disease

People suffering from IBD may develop chronic inflammation of the large intestine. This further heightens the risk of developing colorectal cancer.

Prevention

  • Get screened for colorectal cancer

One of the most effective methods for preventing colorectal cancer is regular colorectal cancer screening. The practice of checking for cancer or pre-cancer in individuals who have no signs of the disease is termed screening. It generally takes 10 to 15 years for the early abnormal cells to grow into polyps, and then for them to develop into colorectal cancer. The majority of polyps may be identified and removed with routine screening before they develop into cancer. You should start getting examined for colorectal cancer if you’re 40 or older.

  • Exercise regularly

You may have a higher risk of getting colorectal cancer if you are not physically active. Routine physical activity can help to lower the risk. Limiting the amount of time you spend sitting and lying down may also help to reduce your risk. In both men and women, being overweight or obese increases the risk of colorectal cancer. Exercising regularly will also help in keeping your weight in check.

  • Avoid smoke

People who have smoked for a significant duration are more likely to get colon or rectal cancer and die from it, than nonsmokers. Quitting smoking may reduce your chance of colorectal cancer as well as a myriad of other cancers.

  • Avoid excessive alcohol

Several studies have linked greater alcohol use to an increased risk of colorectal cancer, particularly among males. If you do drink, you should limit yourself to one drink per day for women and two drinks per day for men.

  • Eat plenty of fruits, veggies & whole grains

The consumption of a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, and whole grains has been associated with a reduced risk of colon and rectal cancer. Also, reduce your consumption of red meat (beef, pork, or lamb) as well as processed meats (hot dogs and other luncheon meats), which have been related to an enhanced risk of colorectal cancer.

  • Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs)

People who frequently take aspirin or other non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medications (NSAIDs) including ibuprofen (Motrin, Advil) and naproxen (Aleve) had a reduced risk of colorectal cancer and polyps, according to several studies. Regular use of NSAIDs, on the other hand, can result in serious adverse effects such as stomach lining bleeding and blood clots that can lead to stroke or heart attack. Regular colorectal cancer screenings can not be replaced by taking aspirin or other NSAIDs. People should discuss the risks and advantages of taking aspirin on a regular basis with their doctor.

  • Combination hormone replacement therapy

Taking estrogen and progesterone after menopause has been proven in certain studies to lower a woman’s risk of colorectal cancer. However, among women who use combination hormone replacement therapy (HRT) and get colorectal cancer, the cancer is more likely to be advanced when diagnosed, and the chance of dying from colorectal cancer is not lessened. If you are thinking about taking menopausal hormone therapy, talk to your doctor about the risks and advantages.

According to research, food, weight, and exercise habits are significantly connected to the risk of colorectal cancer. Some of these lifestyle patterns may be difficult to change. Making the adjustments, however, can reduce the chance of several other forms of cancer, as well as other severe conditions such as heart disease and diabetes. Be sure to make the necessary changes in your life to lower your chance of developing colorectal cancer. Remember to consult a doctor in case of any doubts and concerns, or simply to ensure your lifestyle and health status are on the right track.

RELATED POSTS

Overeating & Risk of Getting GERD

Overeating & Risk of Getting GERD

VIEW DETAILS
Hemorrhoids

Hemorrhoids

VIEW DETAILS
GERD

GERD

VIEW DETAILS
Gallbladder Surgery

Gallbladder Surgery

VIEW DETAILS
Endocrine Surgery

Endocrine Surgery

VIEW DETAILS
Colorectal Surgery

Colorectal Surgery

VIEW DETAILS